There are two major types of glaucoma:

  • Acute closed-angle glaucoma
  • Chronic or primary open-angle glaucoma

Other variations include congenital glaucoma, pigmentary glaucoma and secondary glaucoma.

There are no warning signs of Chronic glaucoma. About half of Americans with chronic glaucoma don’t even know they have it. Glaucoma gradually reduces your peripheral vision. By the time you notice it, permanent damage has already occurred. If your intraocular pressure remains high, you can develop tunnel vision. You will only be able to see objects straight ahead.

Other signs to watch for include headaches, blurred vision, difficulty adapting to darkness or halos around lights. Chronic glaucoma normally develops after age 35.

The great news is that our doctors offer the latest in treatment options, including ͞MIGS͟ (Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery) procedures, such as SLT, safe, effective, laser treatment, and iStent.


* All indicated fields must be completed.
Please include non-medical questions and correspondence only.

Accessibility Toolbar

Scroll to Top